The Women’s Prize for Fiction

The Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly The Orange Prize, The Bailey’s Prize, etc) are a great source for compelling contemporary literature. The list of books I have read and reviewed here is short but sure to grow as I have many more on my shelves to read.

2000ShortlistedFasting, FeastingAnita Desai
2005WinnerWe Need to Talk About KevinLionel Shriver 
2007ShortlistedThe Inheritance of LossKiran Desai
2009ShortlistedBurnt ShadowsKamila Shamsie 
2010ShortlistedWolf HallHilary Mantel
2012ShortlistedHalf Blood BluesEsi Edugyan 
2013LonglistedThe Light Between OceansML Stedman 
2013ShortlistedBring Up the BodiesHilary Mantel
2014ShortlistedBurial RitesHannah Kent 
2020ShortlistedThe Mirror and the LightHilary Mantel
2021WinnerPiranesiSusanna Clarke
2023ShortlistedDemon CopperheadBarbara Kingsolver